Instagram Facebook Twitter

The Phillips Camerata

In-Gallery Performance



$20; $8 for members 

Early seating is recommended; this program is 45 minutes

The Phillips Camerata

Event Details

Surrounded by the landscapes of Georges Seurat, Paul Signac, and Theo van Rysselberghe, on view in Neo-Impressionism and the Dream of Realities: Painting, Poetry, Music, The Phillips Camerata performs César Franck’s String Quartet in D Major, a groundbreaking work composed in the last year of Franck’s life in 1890. One of the first performances of the composition took place at the 1891 Les XX Exhibition, where artists met to discuss the synergies between music, art, and literature of the age. Les XX (the Twenty) invited both Neo-Impressionist and Symbolist artists to show their work at annual exhibitions. Its activities were nurtured by a lively exchange between painters, writers, and composers both from France and Belgium.

Featuring Camerata members Olivia Hajioff, Steven Honigberg, Karen Johnson, and Marc Ramirez.