Dorothy Kosinski has been the director of The Phillips Collection since 2008. She is the former senior curator of painting and sculpture at the Dallas Museum of Art, and served earlier as an independent curator for the Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg, the Kunstmuseum Basel, and the Royal Academy of Arts in London.

Dr. Kosinski is energized and inspired by founder Duncan Phillips's vision for "an intimate museum combined with an experiment station." She says, "From the start, the Phillips has been a place of tremendous risk-taking with an innovative approach to thinking about art and culture. I feel fortunate to have the opportunity to build on Duncan Phillips’s legacy as we work to renew and invigorate that spirit of open-minded, interdisciplinary, and collaborative inquiry into modern and contemporary art."

Dr. Kosinski has written and published widely in numerous catalogues and books, as well as many art magazines. She regularly participates in scholarly lectures and has extensive teaching experience at the university level. She received her MA and PhD degrees from the Institute of Fine Arts, New York University, and her BA from Yale University.


  • Victoria P. SantHonorary Chair
  • George VradenburgChair
  • A. Fenner Milton,Vice Chair
  • George D. Swygert, Jr., Vice Chair
  • Thomas D. Rutherfoord, Jr., Treasurer
  • Linda Lichtenberg KaplanSecretary

  • Carolyn Small Alper
  • C. Richard Belger
  • Janet Maybin Brenner
  • Susan L. Butler
  • Christopher Carr
  • John Despres
  • Lawrence Duncan III
  • Lindsay Ellenbogen
  • Gerald W. Fischer
  • Alan H. Fleischmann
  • Carol Brown Goldberg
  • Bonnie Burke Himmelman
  • Lynne N. Horning
  • Micheline Klagsbrun
  • Dorothy Kosinski, ex officio as Director  
  • Dale LeFebvre
  • Janet Macomber Williamson
  • B. Thomas Mansbach
  • Carol A. Melton
  • Ronald A. Paul, MD
  • Toni Harris Paul
  • Eric Richter
  • Harvey Ross
  • Scott Spector
  • Alice Phillips Swistel
  • Elizabeth H. Williams
  • Alan L. Wurtzel
  • Leo E. Zickler

  • James B. Adler, Trustee Emeritus
  • Marion O. Charles, Trustee Emerita
  • William A. Christenberry, Trustee Emeritus
  • Jonathan Fineberg, Trustee Emeritus
  • James F. Fitzpatrick, Trustee Emeritus
  • Jay Gates, Director Emeritus
  • J. Roderick Heller III, Trustee Emeritus
  • Jennifer Phillips, Trustee Emerita
  • Joann Phillips, Honorary Trustee
  • Patricia Bennett Sagon, Trustee Emerita
  • David W. Steadman, Trustee Emeritus
  • Richard Thompson, Trustee Emeritus
  • Dorothy KosinskiDirector

  • Laith Alnouri, Deputy Director of Development, Partnerships and Corporate Relations
  • Angela GillespieDirector of Human Resources
  • Joseph HolbachDirector of Special Initiatives
  • Christine HollinsDirector of Institutional Giving
  • Amanda HunterAssociate Director of Marketing and Communications
  • Francoise Marshall, Deputy Director of Development, Operations
  • Cherie NicholsDirector of Budgeting and Reporting
  • Sue NicholsChief Operating Officer
  • Klaus OttmannDeputy Director for Curatorial and Academic Affairs
  • Darci VanderhoffChief Information Officer
  • Suzanne WrightDirector of Education