Leading International Composers

Phillips Music


In 2009, European embassies in Washington, DC, and The Phillips Collection joined forces to create an unprecedented concert series: Leading European Composers. Presenting some of the greatest living composers of our time, this series is unique in that the featured composer designs a program of their works with performers they select. In 2015/16 season, Phillips Music broadened its scope to create Leading International Composers, infusing the series with comprehensive views on the state of new music beyond geographical borders. 

Hans Abrahamsen (Denmark)
Dušan Bavdek (Slovakia)
Avner Dorman (Israel)
José Luis Greco (Spain)
Anders Hillborg (Sweden)
Olli Kortekangas (Finland)
Tristan Murail (France)
Arvo Pärt (Estonia)
Matthias Pintscher (Germany)
Kaija Saariaho (Finland)
Miroslav Srnka (Czechoslovakia)
Anna Thorvaldsdottir (Iceland)
Erkki-Sven Tüür (Estonia)
Michel van der Aa (The Netherlands)
Pēteris Vasks (Latvia)
Zhou Long (People's Republic of China)

Concerts are held in The Phillips Collection’s 150-seat Music Room, followed by Coda Sessions, giving audience members a chance to ask questions and converse with these important voices in contemporary music.

Each composer spends time with students and faculty of the University of Maryland’s School of Music at The Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center in College Park to give fresh insight into their work or hold master classes.

During the 2016/17 season, The Phillips Collection presented Zhou Long of China and Anders Hillborg of Sweden: 

Zhou Long, China
December 8, 2016

Zhou Long is a composer whose music brings together the aesthetic concepts and musical elements of East and West. He is currently Distinguished Professor of Music at the University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory of Music and Dance. This performance features musicians from the ensemble Music From China, performing on traditional Chinese instruments.  

Anders Hillborg, Sweden
March 9, 2017

Anders Hillborg has produced a significant output for orchestra and chamber music, as well as his early choral work Mouyayoum. His major works include a violin concerto, Dreaming River for orchestra, Cold Heat—first performed by the Berlin Philharmonic—and the vocal/orchestral work Sirens, first performed by the Los Angeles Philharmonic and Master Chorale. Performers for this concert include the Calder Quartet, clarinetist Magnus Holmander, and Axiom Brass. 

Performances begin promptly at 6 pm unless otherwise noted. General admission seating is first-come, first-served beginning 45 minutes prior to concert start time. Tickets are $40, $20 for members and students with ID; museum admission for that day is included. Advance reservations are strongly recommended.